merujuk kepada entry CHATIME
ada yg bertanya:
entry di copy dari sini:
Due to the increasing popularity of pearl milk bubble tea here in Malaysia, its kinda hard for people to miss anyone not having a cup of this drink it their hands. With the increasing number of outlets actually serving these drinks, its kinda hard for one to differentiate which is the better brand than the rest.
However, one actually does stand out than the rest, not only just via its popularity among the people but also in quality in taste would be the Chatime outlets that are rapidly increasing its number of stalls across Malaysia. Originating from Taiwan, these drinks does have a significantly more milkier taste than the rest. Personally I was never a fan of pearl milk tea to begin with but due to the availability (as well as some staff mates of mine at work) I have to admit that I am now a huge fan of the product.
[The drink that everyone is crazy about!]
However, the one question that has been bugging my mind as well as many around me is this:
Are the products in Chatime halal to begin with?
Out of sheer logic, one would argue that almost all of the products made in this shop are vegetarian based however there have been issues when it comes to gelatin based products made out of lard (pork fat) on some products. Furthermore, each of its outlets have not shown any halal logos on their signs as well.
So I decided to find out from the main source itself as well as the governing body that handles the "halal" recognition for the product! After contacting Mr. Bryan Loo, Chief Executive Officer / Managing Director of Chatime Malaysia himself and he can confirm one thing.
Chatime Drinks in Malaysia are Halal!
He mentioned in a short interview with myself that Chatime has always had an international halal recognition certificate approved even before coming to Malaysia to begin with. The only reason that they can't get the logo up on their shops is because that in order for a shop to have the logo shown on their shops, it is a requirement by law to have 2 Muslim local workers registered as workers at each outlets at all times.
I contacted Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (JAKIM) and sure enough, they agreed to what has been said by Mr. Bryan however it does not mean that the international halal certification are not recognized at all.
Perhaps one of the reasons why Muslim customers are less inclined in purchasing the product of this shop is because that there are no visible signs of any halal certification and also it is an unfortunate norm that we Muslims are less inclined to go for restaurants with Chinese writing on it. With this, perhaps the misconception can be changed as it is quite a nice drink to try out every now and then, especially during a hot day!
Coming from a Muslim who is completely hooked on the pearl milk tea they have in Chatime, I would honestly implore you lot to try out their drinks there, especially my fellow Muslim readers out there. Who knows, you might as much be hooked into it as I would! :D
tepuk dada tanya selera..kalau rasa was2 tak payah pegi :)
Sign up HB!Affiliate to enjoy free gift!